Black Belly Boss Don't Run · Novel Translations

First Official Translation Project: Black Belly Boss, Don’t Run! 《腹黑BOSS, 你别逃!》

BBBDRHello fellow readers! sutekii here! After reading decembi post (full review and ending translation) on Black Belly Boss, Don’t Run! I decided to give this book a try. I have a full-time job and also a full-time mother to my 4-year-old son, it took me 2 weeks to finish this novel.

What made me decide on translating this novel? I really do love this novel for the funny comedic love story between Nuo Nuo and Xiao Yi. I tried searching all over the internet for an English translation, but unfortunately there wasn’t any..  Only the Chinese Novel (online version I’m using to translate the novel) and a Vietnamese translation.

The novel consists of 23 Chapters, Prologue and Epilogue plus 3 side stories. So it’ll be a long translating process for me. My aim is to complete 1 chapter a week, each chapter divided into 3 to 4 parts. Which means this translation project will take half a year to finish. (OMG) Give me some love and support me >.<“

I did want to collaborate with decembi on this project, but unfortunately she has too many projects on her plate, so I will soldier on. If anyone is interested in collaborating with me in translating this novel is more than welcome to. Just leave me a comment below or email me.

Just WARNING to any readers, Chinese has been my third language so I can’t promise I will be translating the novel word by word, nor can it be 100% perfectly accurate so please keep that in mind. ^^” But I try my best to keep the majority of the novel true to the author’s writing style.

As I said Chinese isn’t my first language so I gladly accept any translation corrections anyone think is appropriate.. Instead of what I have translated.

heart1

Brief Summary:

Fairytale version – At a random matchmaking session, Xiao Yi picked up a warm gentle and sweet little white rabbit. So, he carried it home and took care of it, the little white rabbit became bigger under his care, became more playful under his care, until one day, the little white rabbit became a mother tiger.

Realistic version – Nuo Nuo’s first matchmaking session, she was shocked at her bad luck. Her matchmaking date was her BIG BOSS, and what was even more unimaginable, from this day onwards, their destinies start to shift…

The summarised version – This is a light-hearted story of how a Big Ash Wolf who schemed to take care of little white rabbit, got schemed instead to become a Poor Ash Wolf!

Credit: this part is translated by decembi on bookshusheng

heart1

Prologue here

Sealed with a Kiss Novel_My Sweet Life with Beast

Disclaimer: This chapter has been translated by sutekii & English proof read by Pepe Le Pew.

Chapter 1.1  – Matchmaking Alternative 

One year ago..

What fun and thrilling things would happen on a blind date?

Nou Nou’s first blind date, she couldn’t believe her bad luck.

Looking at the man sitting opposite her, Nuo Nuo unconsciously swallowed. Sunlight on the side of his face, perfectly outlined his features: straight nose and eyes with a slight sarcasm. On top of that, his thin lips formed a smirk as he uttered those words, causing Nuo Nuo to lower her head and hide.

“Miss Xu, we seem to know each other.” He said.

Yes, they know each other. They’ve met a month ago in the president’s office on the seventeenth floor.

Yes, he is Nuo Nuo’s current Big Boss, Xiao Yi.

Now, now once again, no limit to her character, she was on a blind date with her own boss, and importantly she’s still on a probationary period.

A month ago, Nuo Nuo did not listen to the discouragement of family and friends. Determined to abandon a fairly good salary and an administrative job, she dove back into the job market pool. She was fairly lucky, over a week, visiting two or three companies she has found a new job that she preferred.

Written tests went well, interviews were not bad, the only thing that caused Nuo Nuo to be depressed was… On the first day of work, cold water was poured in her enthusiasm. Nuo Nuo’s new company is a famous RPG production company, her duties are to outline her plans to the planning board, frankly a writer.

The work was not tiring, wages are on the upper end, the company was big and very stable, she was quite satisfied herself. On the first day of work, she excitedly followed the HR manager to the seventeenth floor to meet Big Boss. The result: Big Boss with one sentence killed her in a heartbeat.

HR Manager: “Xiao Zong, this the Planning Departments new writer Xu Nuo, I took her to meet you.”

Xiao Zong: “……”

He appeared to be very busy, he did not speak, he did not raise his head, he kept working on files. Apart from a slight swing sound from the air-conditioning, the entire office just the sound of three people breathing, the atmosphere was very awkward.

Nuo Nuo rolled her eyes, gritted her teeth, decided to fight on! She graciously took one step forward and introduced herself: “Xiao Zong, hello, my name is Nuo Nuo. Although this is my first time planning for a game company, I will try harder!”

She finished speaking, wondering how Big Boss would respond, perhaps he’ll give her a few encouraging words? After all, it only encourages employees to strive and work harder.

In an instant, Big Boss Xiao Yi really did lift his head and glanced at her, she lamented that he is actually a handsome young man, the corners of his lips lifted slightly, said: “Planning Department? Since the founding of the company, there has not been a female that’s able to stay long enough in that department, you work hard then.”

{{{(>_<)}}}

That last part “You work hard then” is not so much of an encouragement, rather… he was provoking her! Since then, Nuo Nuo has developed a psychological obsession with avoiding the Big Boss’ shadow. Whether it is a training course the mere mention of the name “Xiao Yi”, or in staff meetings seeing his handsome figure, she would avoid and stay away. She even do the one hand, Buddhist prayer position mumbling mantras “Amitabha Buddha, evil spirit disappear, he did not see, did not see me.”

However, who could have thought… The blind date candidate her mother arranged would turn out to be Big Boss!

Nuo Nuo’s done for.

How can there such coincidence? But the mother’s blind date profile clearly said, just an ordinary business manager, and now…… She stole a glance at his face, she’s completely embarrassed.

“Miss Xu.” As Nuo Nuo was deciding whether to answer or not, Xiao Yi spoke again, “If I remember correctly, when you came into the company, what you filled out for your status on the resume was ……” Xiao Yi paused with his head tilted and brutally spit out the word, “married.”

heart1

suteki: I quite like the interactions between our two leads so far. Quite cute how Nuo Nuo is afraid of Xiao Yi.

26 thoughts on “First Official Translation Project: Black Belly Boss, Don’t Run! 《腹黑BOSS, 你别逃!》

  1. Wonderful! Another c-novel being translated. Thank you very much. I’ll definitely support you all the way to chapter 24! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you Moonblossom!

      I am a dedicated reader of your translation “Gentlemen Free-Floating Cloud” over decembi blog! Oh just realised you posted an update, wee shall go read some goodies now!

      Like

  2. Hello sutekii1,

    You have a four year old son! Omg, that is so cute and adorable <3.

    Also, your blog is SOOOOOOO pretty. WordPress looks better than blogger :(, or is it just my horrid IT skills lol. Peanuts always asks me to change to wordpress. But I have blogged at blogger for 10 years already, so habits die hard.

    Congrats on starting the translations! The characters are adorable. You can email me if you meet troublesome phrases you are not sure how to translate!

    Like

    1. Hi decembi,

      I was deciding on blogger or wordpress… but in the end I chose wordpress for the layout 🙂

      Thank you for your kind words, it will definitely help me with the translations, so far I’m only using online dictionary so its not always right.

      Like

  3. Looking forward to your translation of this novel! Had put it on my to-read list earlier, and now I don’t have to bother reading it in Chinese. 😀 Thanks!

    Like

  4. It’s wonderful to see another translation project!!
    Good luck!!
    I will be following this all the the to the end!! 🙂

    Like

  5. Hi, I’m new here…
    and I think I would follow your blog to read this novel translation, the story seems nice and funny.

    Like

    1. Hi kiki,

      Welcome aboard! 😉 It’s nice when a reader comments since I know there are a lot of silent readers lurking around.

      I do hope you enjoy the reading experience as much as I did.

      Like

  6. HI sutekii thanks for the translation, I just read today in ssb ….so I didn’t know you translate this , wuhuu I will read this , looking forward for the next chapter:)

    Like

  7. If my boss was that scary I’ll run too. Even avoid at all cost!! But boy your writing is amazing and really brings out the interaction wonderfully!

    Like

It only takes a few seconds to make someone smile.

