Drama Reviews & Recaps · Songs · You From Another Star

Drama Review: You Who Came From Another Star (별에서 온 그대) [2014]

Also known as: You Who Came from the Stars, You from Another Star, My Love from the Stars, My Love from Another Star, Man from the Stars, Man from Another Star

Genre: Romance, Comedy, Drama, Sci-Fi

Starring: Jun Ji-hyun, Kim Soo-hyun, Park Hae-jin, Yoo In-na

Country of origin: South Korea

No. of episodes: 21

heart1

Review

So I finally have finished watching “You Who Came From Another Star”. I know it’s a little late to get into the hype of this drama, but I’ve been so busy lately I haven’t had time to watch any new dramas until recently. Everyone has told me how great this drama is, so when TVB Dubb the drama, I downloaded it. I can watch the drama while going through some light office documents at home.

I usually don’t watch dubbed dramas, but with End of Financial Year/Tax Returns so close, there’s a lot of documents waiting for me, so no choice. I can now say this is the best Korean drama I’ve watched this year by far. The plot is always fascinating, each episode is never boring and there’s always laughter with a few tears here and there. But there’s no doubt this drama has the charm to keep you on your toes and marathon-ing to the next episode without hesitation.

junjihyun

I gotta applaud Jeon Ji Hyun (왕지현), in my eyes, she was the star of the show. I laughed with her and my heart ached with her, it definitely wouldn’t have been the same without her. I grew up watching her, who remembers “My Sassy Girl”? It was one of the first pieces I watched of Ji Hyun. She’s such a beautiful and humble person plus an amazing actress. ❤

kimsoohyun

As for Kim Soo Hyun (김수현) he has improved leaps and bounds since I first seen him in “Dream High”, his crying scenes are always touching but is it just me… I really dislike his mushroom hairstyle.. >.< Don’t kill me any Kim Soo Hyun fans… my deepest impression of him would have been when he sang to Song Yi in the drama. Such a great singer and actor, so multi-talented.

yooinna

And Yoo In-na (유인나) I love this girl but.. her character did not appeal to me, instead she annoyed me quite a bit, maybe because I have such a deep impression of her in her role as Choi Hae-jin in the drama Queen In-hyun’s Man (인현왕후의 남). But my cousin reminded me, if I disliked her in this role it means she’s doing a good job. Hahaha.

Can I just say how devastated I was when I found out Yoo In Na and Ji Hyun-woo broke up? Their chemistry was off the charts on Queen In-hyun’s Man. *heart broken*

queen in hyun's man

heart1

Favorite Quotes from the Drama

Open your heart. Someone will come, someone will come for you. But first, you have to open your heart.

Do Min Joon: “The length of time is not important, the most important is with whom you spend that time. From now on, I will remain here to make (spend) time together with her.”

Do Min Joon: “The greatest power that I possess is stopping time. I stopped time uncountable during times that you aren’t even aware of. And I said this… I love you, Cheon Song Yi. Because if I told you while time was flowing by, I felt that everything would flow away and disappear. So I told you while time was stopped. I love you, Cheon Song Yi… I love you.

Chun Song Yi: “Even if I were to go back in time, I would meet you again, I’d fight & fall with you again. And I would love you again”

Chun Song Yi: “Mom, he is the only one in the universe that I love. There was no one before him and there won’t be anyone after him. Though he may not be an ordinary person, to me he is just a person I love.

Se Mi: “To me he is the one who I want to have, even if I have to throw away everything I have”

Se Mi’s Mom: “Do you know why life is interesting? It’s interesting because you don’t know what’s ahead of you.”

heart1

I just watched a clip put together by a fan, using the song sang by Alfred Hui, 許廷鏗. Who is an amazing, promising singer (also a dentist). The song is actually written as “Journey To The West, 西遊記” theme song, but surprisingly fit “You From Another Star” 來自星星的你 plot so much.

這晚 你與我分隔兩方
This night, you and I are apart in two different places.
這晚 無繁星給我仰望
This night, there are no stars to give me hope.
誰提示我 哪裡是我苦海對岸
Who will guide me – where is the harbor for my sea of misery?
但我不難過 自問已得到太多
But I don’t feel bad, I know I already have too much.

仍會期望 你仍然或者需要我
I will still hope, maybe you still need me.
人於哪方 我隨時來替你附和
Wherever you are, I can come with you anytime.
從前 寒冬裡 當星辰黯淡無月光
Once upon a time, in the cold winter, when the stars were dim and the moonlight was gone,
是你的輪廓 不肯捨棄我
It was your silhouette, not willing to abandon me.

愛你(愛你) 永遠也不會太多
To love you, will never ever be too much.
為何(為何) 無涯天邊只有冷落
So why, do I only find desolation in the endless horizon?
誰提示我 哪裡會是我苦海對岸
Who will guide me – where is the harbor for my sea of misery?
但我不難過 旁人共我又何干
But I don’t feel bad, what do other people have to do with me?

仍會期望 你仍然或者需要我
I will still hope, maybe you still need me.
人於哪方 我隨時來替你附和
Wherever you are, I can come with you anytime.
從無離開過 假使你仍許可
I never left, so if you’d still let me…
來日再由我 危劫中護航
Some day, let me shelter you from danger again.
回憶太多 似洪洪烈火蒸發我
The many memories are burning me like a flood of fire.
無悔飄蕩 慶幸仍能替你寂寞
With regrets floating, I’m happy I can feel lonely for you.
千百年 寒冬裡 當星辰黯淡無月光
In thousands of years, in the cold winter, when the stars are dim and the moonlight is gone,
是你的輪廓 不肯捨棄我
It will be your silhouette, not willing to abandon me.

結局我很清楚 存在好比一首輓歌
I understand the ending clearly – there’s a decent elegy.
愛你的是我 紅塵內救藥無方
The one who loves you is me, there’s no drug in this world to cure me of this.

始終盼望 你仍然或者需要我
All along I hope, maybe you still need me.
不管哪方 我隨時承接你風浪
Wherever you are, I can shelter you from the storms on the seas at anytime.
千百年 寒冬裡 當星辰黯淡無月光
In thousands of years, in the cold winter, when the stars are dim and the moonlight is gone,

沒你的輪廓 我不知怎去過
Without your silhouette, I won’t know how to be.

Disclaimer: Lyrics have been translated by wc24680.

The lyrics talk about how even though they separated, he is always prepared to protect her. He hopes she still needs him, won’t give up and abandon him. He’ll be her protecting ship, sheltering her through the wind and rain. (Hence the name of the song) “Shelter” (護航).

Kayee Tam 譚嘉儀 also sings a great cover one of the OST in Cantonese. I also think she’s such an underrated singer. Love a lot of her covers.

6 thoughts on “Drama Review: You Who Came From Another Star (별에서 온 그대) [2014]

  1. This drama is really great! It had been pleasant torture waiting whole week for another episode. 😀
    And what great idea was it to have epilogue in each episode. There were some hilarious moments.
    Oh, I’m not sure if this was also dubbed but there are some extra seconds of story that couldn’t make it into the last episode. It’s nice touch for the ending.

    Like

    1. Yes those are also dubbed and included at the end of each episode.

      I’m currently on episode 8 so good so far probably one of my favorite kdrama for this year. XD

      Like

      1. I meant there is extended epilogue for last episode. I think they couldn’t include it in officially because of lack of time (?) but felt it was pity and decided to make small fan service. XD

        Like

It only takes a few seconds to make someone smile.